Michael Mantler

The jazz composer’s orchestra update

ECM Records ECM 2391











  1. Update One
  2. Update Eight
  3. Update Nine
  4. Update Eleven
  5. Update Five
  6. Update Six
  7. Update Ten
  8. Update Twelve Pt. 1
  9. Update Twelve Pt. 2 (Preview)
  10. Update Twelve Pt. 3

All compositions by Michael Mantler
Published by Ernste Musik (KODA)

Nouvelle Cuisine Big Band
Christoph Cech – conductor

Manfred Balasch – soprano saxophone, flute
Clemens Salesny – soprano saxophone, clarinet
Wolfgang Puschnig – alto saxophone, flute
Fabian Rucker – alto saxophone, clarinet, bass clarinet
Harry Sokal – tenor and soprano saxophones
Chris Kronreif – tenor saxophone, flute
Florian Fennes – baritone saxophone
Aneel Soomary – trumpet
Martin Ohrwalder – trumpet
Christoph Walder – french horn
Hans Peter Manser – french horn
Peter Nickel – trombone
Florian Heigl – bass-trombone
Alex Rindberger – tuba
David Helbock – piano
Peter Herbert – double bass
Tibor Kövesdi – double bass
Manuel Mayr – double bass
Lukas Knöfler – drums

with soloists

Michael Mantler – trumpet
Harry Sokal – tenor saxophone

Bernie Mallinger – violin
Igmar Jenner – violin
Cynthia Liao – viola
Asja Valcic – cello

Bjarne Roupé – guitar
Wolfgang Puschnig – alto saxophone
David Helbock – piano

Recorded live August 30/31 and September 1, 2013
at Porgy & Bess, Vienna, Austria
Engineer: Martin Vetters
Mixed and mastered October and December 2013
Photo: Rainer Rygalyk
Design: Sascha Kleis
Produced by Michael Mantler

An ECM Production
in collaboration with Porgy & Bess, Vienna

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s